Young Miss Magazine from 1971

Here are some scans of a few pages of the March, 1971 issue of Young Miss magazine. According to the cover, it was formerly known as Calling All Girls, which is a much better name, in my opinion, but I guess it was passé in March of 1971.

Young Miss Cover

This magazine laid around our house for years when I was a kid. I think one of my older sisters subscribed to it. I ran into this issue in a box of old magazines in my mother’s house, and brought it here to you.

The table of contents is kinda interesting.

Young Miss Contents

As you can see, it’s a mixture of fun fiction, historically fascinating fashion tips for 12 to 16 year olds, and sheer inanity. My favorite part of the magazine was the regular feature called Was My Face Red, which consisted of readers sending in descriptions of embarrassing moments.

Was My Face Red

There were also fashion spreads which look more interesting now than they did back then. The style of modeling itself was different then. I was going to say it was weird, but of course today’s style of fashion modeling is much weirder.Fashion Spread

Fashion Spread 2

Then, as now, there were articles about how to waste hours of your time making useless little doodads that would later decorate the shelves above the women’s sweaters at the thrift store.

Let’s Do It!

And Jokes, which is cool. Some of these are quite amusing.

Jokes

And then, as now, magazines aimed at girls and women were a painful mixture of exhortations to be yourself and tomes of advice about how to alter your personality and appearance. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Do Your Own Thing

Do Your Own Thing 2

About this entry