Franz Snyders

I studied a little art history in college, but I had never heard of prolific Flemish painter Frans Snyders before I came across his gigantic still life paintings in museums on my first trip to Europe.

Snyders painted life-sized images of huge spreads of fruit, vegetables, and game, filled with color and detail. For some reason, he often included a thief in his compositions, whether a pickpocket or an animal stealing some of the food on display. His paintings make me think about my place in the food chain

still-life-with-fruite-wan-li-porcelain-and-squirrel

a_still_life_of_grapes_in_a_basket

cook_with_food1

fishmongers

fruit-basket

fruit-in-a-bowl-and-a-sliced-melon

kitchen-still-life

still-life-with-basket-of-fruit

still-life-with-dead-birds

still-life-with-fruit-and-game

still-life-with-fruit-and-squirrel

still-life-with-monkey

still_life_1616

stillife-with-pickpocket

stillife

trois-singes-voleurs-de-fruits

vegetable_still_life

Images courtesy of Art Renewal Center and the Web Gallery of Art, and the Hermitage, Louvre, the Museum of Fine Arts Boston, and the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

About this entry